Jump to content

Join the book club and read our book of the month:  This months book is Neuromancer.  Live stream discussion will be Sunday, April 18th at 1pm MST please RSVP if you will be attending 

Crackle and Fire Book by Russ Colchamiro Review

Sign in to follow this  
Lasraik

17 views

Crackle and Fire is the first book in the Angela Harwicke Mysterys series.

I was provided a digital copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Synopsis:

Spoiler

For fans of Doctor Who, Blade Runner and Philip Marlowe...

Angela Hardwicke isn’t just any private eye.

She’s a PI from Eternity, the cosmic realm responsible for the design, creation, and maintenance of the Universe.

When accountant Gil Haberseau hires her to find an intern with stolen corporate files, Hardwicke soon finds herself embroiled in a deadly case of lies, intrigue, and murder, clashing with vengeful gangsters, MinderNot rallies, and a madman who’s come a long way to get what he wants.

In Russ Colchamiro’s thrilling Sci-Fi mystery Crackle and Fire, Angela Hardwicke learns once and for all that when it comes to being an intergalactic private eye, there’s no telling what threats she may face on-realm and off… including the demons that lurk deep within her soul.

 

What I liked:

  • In what feels like a lifetime ago, I was a Private Investigator for a period of time.  This story took me back to those days.  I wonder if the author either has been a PI at some point or knows someone who has.
  • The environments are vibrant
  • The book is fast paced with lots of twists and turns
  • The universe is interesting and the mixture of science fiction and a mystery was fun
  • There's some genuinely funny moments

 

What I didn't like:

  • While the universe is interesting, I had the feeling that I was reading the second novel in a series not having an idea how everything works.  From what I understand it's much clearer if you've read the previous books by this author.
  • I'm assuming it speaks to the main characters attitude, but she has sexual tension with almost everyone she meets and makes a sexual reference about herself or other characters constantly.  It felt out of place and unnecessary, it didn't serve the story.
  • The chapters end on a cliff hanger, but sometimes are annoying more than cliff hanging.

 

Rating: 2.5 dRops out of 5

 

Sign in to follow this  


0 Comments


Recommended Comments

There are no comments to display.

Guest
Add a comment...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

×
×
  • Create New...